The Hawaiian language is a Polynesian language that is native to the Hawaiian Islands. It is closely related to other Polynesian languages, such as Tahitian, Samoan, and Maori. The Hawaiian language has been declining in use since the 19th century, when English became the primary language of Hawaii. Today, Hawaiian is spoken by less than 0.1% of the population of Hawaii. However, there is a growing movement to revive the Hawaiian language, and it is now taught in some schools and used in some government and media contexts. There are several distinctive features of the Hawaiian language. One is the use of the glottal stop, which is not found in other Polynesian languages. Hawaiian also has a unique system of vowel length, with long and short vowels being distinguished. The Hawaiian alphabet consists of 13 letters, 5 of which are vowels. The most common way of writing Hawaiian is with the Latin alphabet, but there is also a traditional Hawaiian alphabet, which uses symbols to represent the sounds of the language.

Language group

Eastern Malayo-Polynesian languages

Language locales, regions and scripts

Hawaiian, United States, Latin
Hawaiian, United States
Hawaiian, Latin