Faroe Islands

The Faroe Islands are an archipelago located between Iceland and Norway in the North Atlantic Ocean. The Faroe Islands are a self-governing country within the Kingdom of Denmark. The total population of the Faroe Islands is 49,000, with a population density of 64 people per square kilometer. The capital of the Faroe Islands is Tórshavn, which has a population of 18,000. The largest town on the Faroe Islands is Klaksvík, with a population of 5,000. The Faroe Islands have a temperate climate, with average temperatures ranging from 5-10 degrees Celsius in the winter to 10-15 degrees Celsius in the summer. The Faroe Islands receive an average of 1,500mm of precipitation per year, with the majority of precipitation falling in the form of rain. The Faroe Islands are home to a variety of wildlife, including puffins, seals, and whales. The waters around the Faroe Islands are some of the richest fishing grounds in the world, and the Faroese economy is heavily reliant on the fishing industry. Faroese cuisine is heavily influenced by the sea, and popular dishes include dried fish, fermented fish, and whale meat. The Faroe Islands have a rich cultural heritage, and the Faroese language is an official language of the Faroe Islands, along with Danish. The Faroese flag is red and white, and the national anthem of the Faroe Islands is "Tá ið søgu løgmans" ("The Saga of the Lawman"). The Faroe Islands are a popular tourist destination, and visitors can enjoy a variety of activities such as hiking, birdwatching, and whale watching. The Faroe Islands are also home to a number of historical and cultural sites, including the Tinganes peninsula in Tórshavn, the Kirkjubøur church, and the Vestmanna bird cliffs.

Geographic data


2.001 billion US dollars

Date format

First workday
Saturday - Sunday

Measurement units

Measurement system
Length units
Area units
Square kilometer
Square meter
Square centimeter
Speed unit
Kilometer per hour
Temperature unit

Literacy percentage
Official language