Outlying Oceania

Outlying Oceania is a subregion of Oceania consisting of small island groups and territories that are geographically removed from the main region. The term is often used to refer specifically to the Polynesian island groups of French Polynesia, Samoa, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, and Wallis and Futuna. The region has a total land area of about 10,000 square miles (26,000 km2) and a population of approximately 1.5 million people. The majority of the population is of Polynesian descent, with smaller populations of Micronesians, Melanesians, and Europeans. The region is home to some of the world's most remote island groups, including the Pitcairn Islands, Easter Island, and the Tuamotu Archipelago. The islands of Outlying Oceania are scattered across a vast expanse of ocean, and many of them are only accessible by boat or plane. The isolation of the islands has resulted in a unique flora and fauna, as well as a distinct culture. The people of Outlying Oceania have a rich tradition of storytelling and music, and their art is characterized by bright colors and intricate patterns. The region is facing many challenges, including climate change, overfishing, and environmental degradation. However, the people of Outlying Oceania are working to protect their way of life and preserve their unique cultures.

Date format

First workday
Saturday - Sunday

Measurement units

Measurement system
Length units
Area units
Square kilometer
Square meter
Square centimeter
Speed unit
Kilometer per hour
Temperature unit